Venice Booklist overbooked.com

Fiction and Nonfiction set in Venice, Italy.

Fiction

  • The Marriage of the Sea
    Author: Alison, Jane
    Publisher: Farrar Straus & Giroux $ 24 ISBN: 0374199418 Date: 2003
    starKirkus
    As alluring as The Love-Artist, this is a contemporary tale of love and ambition, betrayal and revenge, set in two gloriously watery cities.
    Updated 1.10.03
  • Lucifer's Shadow
    Author: Hewson, David
    Publisher: Delacorte $ 21.95 ISBN: 0385337949 Date: 2004
    starBooklist
    When Daniel Forster, a young Englishman, arrives in Venice, he is soon drawn into a treacherous game of deception spanning three centuries, from the Venice of Vivaldi and Rousseau to the violence of the present day.
    Suggested Reading: Music and Fiction
    Updated 5.7.04
  • The Floating Book: A Novel of Venice
    Author: Lovric, Michelle
    Publisher: Regan $ 25.95 ISBN: 0060578564 Date: 2003
    starBooklist
    This ravishing historical novel is set in the alleys and canals of 15th-century Venice as the revolution of movable type captivates--and terrifies--the city.
    Suggested Reading: Historical Fiction
    Updated 11.25.03
  • The Remedy
    Author: Lovric, Michelle
    Publisher: Regan $ 25.95 ISBN: 0060837039 Date: 2006
    starBooklist
    Love and murder fuse the lives of an 18th-century Venetian actress and the prince of London's medical underworld in the new novel by the author of the Booksense Top Ten pick The Floating Book.
    Updated 11.14.05
  • Loredana: A Venetian Tale
    Author: Martines, Lauro
    Publisher: Thomas Dunne $ 23.95 ISBN: 0312347510 Date: 2005
    starLJ
    A riveting novel of politics and passion, love and lust in sixteenth-century Venice -- the story of two lovers caught up in a dangerous revolutionary movement -- written by a distinguished historian of the Italian Renaissance.
    Updated 11.22.05
  • Painted Veil
    Author: Myers, Beverle Graves
    Publisher: Poisoned Pen $ 24.95 ISBN: 1590581407 Date: 2005
    starPW
    It's Venice, 1734--after being demoted to secondary roles due to neglecting his vocal practice in favor of dubious pleasures, castrato soprano Tito Amato jumps at the chance to reclaim his status by solving a murder case that threatens to close the opera house.
    Suggested Reading: Historical Crime Fiction Stars
    Updated 2.28.05
  • Venetian Stories
    Author: Rylands, Jane Turner
    Publisher: Pantheon $ 22 ISBN: 0375422323 Date: 2003
    Twelve wry and enthralling stories evoke the hidden life of one of Europe's most mysterious and unknowable cities.
    Updated 8.5.03
  • Miss Garnet's Angel
    Author: Vickers, Salley
    Publisher: Carroll & Graf $ 25 ISBN: 0786708239 Date: 2001
    starKirkusstarPW
    Stories magically unfold within this novel's tale of Miss Julia Garnet, a schoolteacher who decides, after the death of her longtime friend Harriet, to take an apartment for six months in Venice. Overwhelmed by the beauty of the city and its magnificent art, Miss Garnet's English reserve begins to melt away. For the first time in her life she falls in love and her once ordinary world is further transformed.
    Suggested Reading: Reading Group Stars
    Updated 8.5.03
  • Also:

  • Vaporetto13 by Robert Girardi
  • The Wings of the Dove by Henry James
  • Perfect Happiness by Penelope Lively
  • Death in Venice by Thomas Mann
  • Consuela: A Romance of Venice by George Sand
  • The Passion by Jeanette Winterson

Mystery & Suspense

  • Uniform Justice
    Author: Leon, Donna
    Publisher: Atlantic $ 24 ISBN: 0871139030 Date: 2003
    starLJstarBookliststarPW
    Leon is the internationally bestselling novelist whose ever adroit, big-hearted Venetian detective Commissario Guido Brunetti has captivated fans throughout the world. As Uniform Justice opens, Brunetti is called to investigate a parent's worst nightmare: a young cadet has been found hanged, a presumed suicide, in Venice's elite military academy. Part of an ongoing series.
    Suggested Reading: All Stars
    Updated 8.4.03
  • The Last Gondola
    Author: Sklepowich, Edward
    Publisher: Minotaur $ 24.95 ISBN: 0312290497 Date: 2002
    The Last Gondola brings back Urbino Macintyre, American expatriate writer, and his good friend, the Contessa da Capo-Zendrini, in another classic mystery set in the Venice of the wealthy international set amid the artists, authors, and patrons of their arts. Part of an ongoing series.
    Updated 7.28.03

Nonfiction

  • The City of Falling Angels
    Author: Berendt, John
    Publisher: Penguin $ 25.95 ISBN: 1594200580 Date: 2005
    starKirkusstarLJ
    The author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil returns after a decade to offer, in his inimitable style, an intimate look at the "magic, mystery, and decadence" of the city of Venice and its inhabitants.
    Suggested Reading: Travel Tales
    Updated 10.405
  • Paradise of Cities: Venice in the 19th Century
    Author: Norwich, John Julius
    Publisher: Doubleday $ 32.50 ISBN: 0385509049
    starKirkusstarBooklist
    The greatest living chronicler of Venetian history brings to life the city's magical charm in a beautifully illustrated and captivating book. - Publisher Marketing.
    Updated 7.28.03
  • A Venetian Affair
    Author: Di Robilant, Andrea
    Publisher: Knopf $ 24 ISBN: 037541181x Date: 2003
    In this Romeo-and-Juliet tale of illicit love, a discovery of a box of 18th-century love letters leads to this true story of Andrea Memmo, a great Venetian statesman, and a beautiful half-English girl named Giustiniana Wynne.
    Updated 8.5.03
  • Venetian Dreaming
    Author: Weideger, Paula
    Publisher: Pocket $ 26 ISBN: 0671047299 Date: 2002
    Readers can explore the sights, sounds, and magic of Venice through the eyes of a renowned author's beautifully written work--in the tradition of Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence and Adam Gopnik's Paris to the Moon.
    Updated 7.28.03

Seeing Stars

Annotated lists of books receiving at least one starred review from one of four major review sources: Booklist, Kirkus, LJ and PW.

2012 Lists

more stars lists...

Hotlists@ Google Docs

Crime Fiction... 2012 | 2011

Fiction... 2012 | 2011

(lists of new and notable books - lists are sortable and can be downloaded)

 

book mark Overbooked

Sign up for updates via the Overbooked mailing list