Edgar Allan Poe Stars overbooked.com

Books about Poe or inspired by his work.

Annotations are from Advance, the Ingram Book Magazine, unless noted.


Fiction

  • The Pale Blue Eye
    Author: Bayard, Louis
    Publisher: HarperCollins $ 24.95 ISBN: 0060733977 Date: 2006
    star PW star Kirkus
    In this ingenious tale of murder and revenge at West Point, a retired New York City detective recruits a young cadet named Edgar Allan Poe to help him narrow down the suspects, even as they deal with their own personal demons.
    Updated 4.24.06
  • The Raven and the Nightingale: A Modern Mystery of Edgar Allan Poe
    Author: Dobson, Joanne
    Publisher: Doubleday $ 21.95 ISBN: 0385493398 Date: 1999
    An unexpected bequest sends waves of violence through placid groves of academe in Dobson's third mystery to feature professor Karen Pelletier.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • Entombed
    Author: Fairstein, Linda
    Publisher: Scribner $ 26 ISBN: 0743254880 Date: 2005
    In the latest electrifying thriller from "New York Times" bestselling and Nero Wolf Award-winning author Fairstein, Alexandra Cooper matches wits with Edgar Allan Poe as she probes the haunting shadows of New York's literary history.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • The Murder of Edgar Allan Poe
    Author: Hatvary, George Egon
    Publisher: Carroll & Graf $ 22 ISBN: 078670358x Date: 1997
    When Auguste Dupin, on an overcast day in October 1849, receives a letter informing him of Poe's death, he leaves Paris and journeys to America to pay his respects to Poe's family. But he also wants to put to rest his fear that his friend was murdered; unfortunately, it seems as though Poe had his enemies as well as his admirers. Dupin's voyage takes him from the genteel salons of Richmond, Virginia to the home of the woman who stole Poe's heart, to the back alleys of Baltimore, where the poet lost himself in drink and self-pity, to the throngs of New York City, hub of the elite literary society which Poe ultimately failed to enter. Rich in its depictions of nineteenth-century America,
    The Murder of Edgar Allan Poe quickly draws the reader into a mystery as macabre and frightening as Poe's own work. - Publisher Marketing.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • Nevermore
    Author: Hjortsberg, William
    Publisher: Atlantic $ 21 ISBN: 0871135795 Date: 1994
    Set in 1920's New York City, this dazzling literary thriller by the bestselling author of Falling Angel combines pulse-racing action, a cast of famous historical characters, a brilliantly deranged serial killer, and visits from beyond the grave.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • In a Strange City
    Author: Lippman, Laura
    Publisher: Morrow $ 24 ISBN: 0380978180 Date: 2001
    star PW
    Lippman's Tess Monaghan novel is an homage to the city of Baltimore. The plot hinges on literary history involving an anonymous figure who places brandy and a rose on Edgar Allan Poe's grave every January on the writer's birthday--until one year the mystery man is murdered.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • The Lighthouse at the End of the World: A Tale of Edgar Allan Poe
    Author: Marlowe, Stephen
    Publisher: Dutton $ 23.95 ISBN: 0525940499 Date: 1995
    star PW
    Marlowe, author of
    The Memoirs of Christopher Columbus, recreates the world of Edgar Allan Poe--his marriage to his 13-year-old cousin and his ostracism by the literary establishment of the day. But what seems at first a fictional biography soon expands into a tale of mystery featuring Poe's legendary detective, August Dupin, and a journey to a universe not quite our own.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • Poe & Fanny
    Author: May, John
    Publisher: Algonquin $ 24.95 ISBN: 1565124278 Date: 2004
    star Booklist
    This first-rate historical fiction revolves around one of the most famous andtragic figures in American literature--Edgar Allan Poe.
    Suggested Reading: Historical Fiction | Authors | Biographical Fiction
    Updated 4.27.04
  • For Edgar
    Author: Rusch, Sheldon
    Publisher: Prime Crime $ 23.95 ISBN: 042520409x Date: 2005
    star Kirkus
    A killer who calls himself The Raven honors the macabre tales of Edgar Allan Poe through a series of slayings. Special Agent Elizabeth Taylor Hewitt tracks The Raven's tell-tale signs, leading her into a mystery that binds them both in an ingenious nightmare.
    Updated 6.9.05
  • The Hollow Earth: The Narrative of Mason Algiers Reynolds of Virginia
    Author: Rucker, Rudy
    Publisher: Morrow $ 18.95 ISBN: 0688094139 Date: 1990
    star PW
    Updated 7.25.05
  • Nevermore
    Author: Schechter, Harold
    Publisher: Ballantine $ 23 ISBN: 0671798553 Date: 1999
    A chilling piece of historical fiction, starring author Edgar Allan Poe. After Poe skewers the autobiography of Colonel David Crockett--and is unexpectedly confronted by the indignant congressman--the two men are led on a quest for a killer that will bring them face to face with the darkest impulses of the human heart.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • The Hum Bug
    Author: Schechter, Harold
    Publisher: Atria $ 25 ISBN: 0671041150 Date: 2001
    Premier mystery author Schechter revisits the chilling world of
    Nevermore in this novel of historical suspense, the second in his critically acclaimed series starring Edgar Allan Poe.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • The Mask of Red Death
    Author: Schechter, Harold
    Publisher: Ballantine $ 24.95 ISBN: 0345448413 Date: 2004
    Suspense, intrigue, atmosphere, and vivid historical detail combine into a thrilling ride through nineteenth-century New York City in
    The Mask of Red Death. Harold Schechter delivers both a wonderfully accurate portrait of a city in turmoil and an irresistibly appealing depiction of his amateur sleuth Edgar Allan Poe, mirroring the master's writing style with wit and acumen.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • The Tell-Tale Corpse
    Author: Schechter, Harold
    Publisher: Ballantine $ 24.95 ISBN: 0345448421 Date: 2006
    Updated 7.25.05
  • On Night's Shore
    Author: Silvis, Randall
    Publisher: Minotaur $ 24.95 ISBN: 0312262019 Date: 2001
    star Booklist
    In 1840 New York City, a beautiful shopgirl is murdered. The discovery of her body in the Hudson River prompts young journalist Edgar Allan Poe to search for the truth behind an apparently motiveless crime. Joining Poe is Augie Dubbins, an orphaned street urchin who becomes Poe's most trusted ally and narrates the story as it swings wildly from the Five Points slums to the mansions of Fifth Avenue.
    Suggested Reading: Historical Mystery Stars
    Updated 12/7/00
  • Disquiet Heart
    Author: Silvis, Randall
    Publisher: Minotaur $ 24.95 ISBN: 0312262485 Date: 2002
    Edgar Allan Poe--author, poet, and occasional sleuth--returns in this atmospheric literary thriller where five young girls go missing in Pittsburgh.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • An Unpardonable Crime
    Author: Taylor, Andrew
    Publisher: Hyperion $ 24.95 ISBN: 1401301029 Date: 2004
    This irresistible literary thriller in the tradition of
    The Alienist and An Instance of the Fingerpost is set in early 1800s England and involves young Edgar Allan Poe.
    Updated 7.25.05
  • Nonfiction

  • Poe
    Author: Hutchinsson, James M.
    Publisher: Univ PR of Miss $ 30 ISBN: 1578067219 Date: 2005
    star LJ
    Updated 7.12.05
  • Midnight Dreary: The Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe
    Author: Walsh, John Evangelist
    Publisher: Rutgers $ 25 ISBN: 0813526051 Date: 1998
    star LJ
    With the publication of three short tales in the 1840s, Poe invented the detective story. Then his own sudden and bizarre death created a real-life mystery, still unsolved after 150 years, as tantalizing as any of his stories. While travelling alone from Richmond, Virginia, to New York City, Poe disappeared for nearly a week. When seen again he was terribly drunk and near death in Baltimore. In the hospital, he couldn't tell where he'd been all that time or who he'd been with. Four days later, after periods of raving delirium, he died. Until now, no one has seriously probed the mystery of the missing week. In
    Midnight Dreary, John Evangelist Walsh examines the last days of one of America's most admired authors, definitively untangling more than a century of speculation. - Publisher Marketing.
    Updated 7.12.05

Seeing Stars

Annotated lists of books receiving at least one starred review from one of four major review sources: Booklist, Kirkus, LJ and PW.

2012 Lists

more stars lists...

Hotlists@ Google Docs

Crime Fiction... 2012 | 2011

Fiction... 2012 | 2011

(lists of new and notable books - lists are sortable and can be downloaded)

 

book mark Overbooked

Sign up for updates via the Overbooked mailing list