All Stars 2001 - Nonfiction

Annotated lists of books receiving at least one starred review from one of four major review sources: Booklist, Kirkus, LJ and PW. The review source assigns the star.
  • American Chica: Two Worlds, One Childhood
    by Arana, Marie
    Publisher: Dial $ 23.95 ISBN: 0385319622 Date: 2001
    star Kirkus star PW star LJ star Booklist
    In the tradition of Richard Rodriguez's A Hunger of Memory comes a rich, emotionally resonant portrait of a child who must come to terms with being neither North nor South American, but a mixture of both.
  • Ava's Man
    by Bragg, Rick
    Publisher: Knopf $ 25 ISBN: 0375410627 Date: 2001
    star Kirkus star Booklist star PW
    No one writes about the South like Pulitzer Prize winner Rick Bragg (All Over But the Shoutin). Once again, he lends his voice to the working people of the Deep South, and tells the story of a memorable figure in a singular time--a man on a lost stretch of dirt road along the Alabama/Georgia border.
    Suggested Reading: Memoir Stars
  • The Eternal Frontier: An Ecological History of North America and Its Peoples
    by Flannery, Tim
    Publisher: Atlantic $ 27.50 ISBN: 0871137895 Date: 2001
    star Kirkus star LJ star PW star Booklist
    Offering a wealth of scientific details, one of the world's foremost paleontologists has undertaken a sweeping, multiple disciplinary history of the geological and ecological development of North America.
    Suggested Reading: Nature
  • River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze
    by Hessler, Peter
    Publisher: HarperCollins $ 26 ISBN: 0060195444 Date: 2001
    star PW star Kirkus star LJ
    In the tradition of Iron & Silk comes a powerful memoir about a young American teacher in the Peace Corps living in the small Chinese city of Fuling as it navigates increasing waves of cultural and social upheaval.
    Suggested Reading: Travel Tales
  • John Adams
    by McCullough, David
    Publisher: Simon & Schuster $ 35 ISBN: 0684813637 Date: 2001
    star Kirkus star Booklist star PW
    In his first book since Truman, one of America's most distinguished and popular biographers breathes life into history with this compelling look at the second president of the United States, John Adams. More than just a biography, this book looks at the birth of a young republic and explores the extraordinary factors that transformed 13 colonies into a united nation.
    Suggested Reading: 1776 Stars
  • Savage Beauty: A Biography of Edna St Vincent Millay
    by Milford, Nancy
    Publisher: Random $ 29.95 ISBN: 039457589X Date: 2001
    star Kirkus star PW star Booklist star Library Journal
    Thirty years after the smashing success of Zelda, Milford returns with a stunning second act. Savage Beauty is the portrait of Edna St. Vincent Millay, a passionate, fearless woman who obsessed America even as she tormented herself.
  • Uncle Tungsten: Memoirs of a Chemical Childhood
    by Sacks, Oliver
    Publisher: Knopf $ 25 ISBN: 0375404481 Date: 2001
    star Kirkus star PW star Library Jourrnal
    In an unforgettable portrait of an extraordinary mind, the distinguished neurologist offers an account of his youth, as unexpected and fascinating as his celebrated case histories.
  • Fast Food Nation
    by Schlosser, Eric
    Publisher: Houghton Mifflin $ 25 ISBN: 0618130977 Date: 2001
    star PW star Kirkus star LJ
    To a degree both engrossing and alarming, the story of fast food is the story of postwar America. Schlosser, a National Magazine Award-winning journalist, charts the fast food industry's enormous impact on our health, landscape, economy, politics and culture as he transforms the way America thinks about what it eats.
    Suggested Reading: Cooked Books
  • The Map That Changed the World: William Smith and the Birth of Modern Geology
    by Winchester, Simon
    Publisher: HarperCollins $ 25 ISBN: 0060193611 Date: 2001
    star Kirkus star PW star LJ
    From the author of the bestselling The Professor and the Madman comes the fascinating story of William Smith, a 19th-century engineer who is obsessed with creating the world's first geological map and ultimately becomes the father of modern geology.

Starred Review Lists

Books that received at least one starred review from Booklist, Kirkus, LJ, and PW.

2013 Crime Fiction: Jan-June | Fiction: Jan-June | Speculative Fiction

2012 Crime Fiction: July-Dec | Fiction: July-Dec | Speculative Fiction

Hotlists@ Google Docs

Crime Fiction... 2013 | 2012 | 2011

Fiction... 2013 | 2012 | 2011

(lists of new and notable books - lists are sortable and can be downloaded)

more stars lists...

book mark Overbooked

Sign up for updates via the Overbooked mailing list